New university league for Eurasia

The Collective Security Treaty Organisation (CSTO) has set up a University League to ‘ensure comprehensive, systematic scientific and methodological support for the development of the international Eurasian community in the spheres of the economy, science and technology, legal fundamentals and the philosophy of human life.’

It’s not aiming to capture all universities in the member countries (Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan; Serbia and Afghanistan have observer status) but to focus on the best national universities. 25 founding members set the League up in April 2014.

See [ru] and [en] for further details.

For more on the CSTO, see, and its own website,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s